Jim Grant's Blog

Help for Job Seekers – It's all about the process!

Give This to The Person Who Reviews Your Resume

I’ve reviewed the resume of lots of people. About 25% of the time, it’s 20-30 minutes into the process of reviewing the resume and asking the person some questions that I come to the realization that the person’s resume isn’t going to help the job seeker to land the job he/she wants.

As a consequence, I designed a form with a handful of questions that I ask a person to fill out and bring to the resume review session. This has proved to be effective. Not only does it help me suggest changes to the resume that will help lead the person to the right job, it gets the person to think through his/her job objective again and firm up what he/she wants to.

Below is a link to the form I designed. Copy the link, paste it into your browser, download the document, print it, fill it out, and take it with you when you meet with someone who is going to review your resume.

We offer the form to the members of the CVJS.

You may be thinking, “Doesn’t my resume explain the kind of job I am looking for?” Maybe, but you will find questions on my form asking for information that is rarely, if ever, found on a resume.

I hope this helps you out.

Let me know how it works for you.

http://cid-f881afcf1774fca8.office.live.com/view.aspx/.Documents/Job%20Desired%20-%20V6.doc

March 13, 2011 - Posted by | Resumes

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

