Jim Grant's Blog

Help for Job Seekers – It's all about the process!

Employer Asks for Confidential Info Before an Offer is Made

I just received an email from a job seeker who was looking for help in responding to a request from an employer for a copy of his last pay stub after only one interview and before an offer was made.

When an employer asks for confidential information (like pay stubs, social security numbers, birth dates) before an offer is made, one of several things can be happening:
   * It is a legitimate request. It is part of the employer’s standard procedures.
   * The information may be used to rule you out. (e.g. your pay is perceived as too high or you are perceived to be too old.)
   * The employer is doing market research on salary and has no intention of making you an offer.
   * It is an outright scam with the intention of stealing your identity or some other fraudulent act.
The problem is that you don’t know in advance.

I have not done a formal survey. However, I believe such requests from an employer before an offer is made, negotiated, and agreed to is very uncommon. It is rare that another job seeker tells me that it is happened to him/her. I also believe it is premature for an employer to ask for such information? Why? Because an employer can make an offer contingent upon any information discovered during a background check or subsequently provided by you, the job seeker. Also, it costs an employer to have a background check done. It is not a lot of money, but it seems to be reasonable to think that an employer would be interested in saving the time, effort, and money by waiting to do the background check after the offer is made for those few cases in which an offer is not acceptable.

When I do get asked how to deal with such a request before an offer is made, my suggestion is that you say “I will be glad to provide whatever information you need after an offer is made.”

Please note. The employer’s people may not accept that kind of response. You run the risk of losing the opportunity if you don’t provide the information when it is requested. If you are desperate for a job, have been experiencing extreme personal or financial stress, or this is your dream job for which you have been waiting for years, then you may want to use a response that is softer than what I proposed.

However, in that case, I would suggest that before you acquiesce and provide the requested information that you ask yourself “Do I really want/need to work for an employer who plays the game with such strong-arm tactics?”

October 13, 2010 - Posted by | Interviewing

7 Comments »

  1. Hurrah, that’s what I was searching for, what a stuff! present here at this blog, thanks admin of this site.

    Comment by Rosella | April 21, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hello very cool web site!! Guy .. Excellent .. Wonderful ..

    I will bookmark your web site and take the feeds also?
    I’m happy to find a lot of helpful information here in the post, we’d like develop extra strategies in this regard, thank you for
    sharing. . . . . .

    Comment by Estella | April 22, 2013 | Reply

  3. you’re really a excellent webmaster. The website loading pace is incredible. It sort of feels that you are doing any unique trick. Furthermore, The contents are masterpiece. you’ve done a fantastic job on this matter!

    Comment by Renate | April 25, 2013 | Reply

  4. Wonderful goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely wonderful. I really like what you have acquired here, really like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you still care for to keep it sensible. I can’t wait to read far more from you.

    This is actually a wonderful site.

    Comment by Treating Hemroids | April 26, 2013 | Reply

  5. I don’t even know how I finished up here, however I believed this put up was once good. I do not recognize who you are however certainly you’re going to a well-known blogger if you aren’t already. Cheers!

    Comment by click the following internet site | April 28, 2013 | Reply

  6. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know
    a few of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but I think its a linking issue.
    I’ve tried it in two different web browsers and both show the same outcome.

    Comment by chatroulette | May 2, 2013 | Reply

    • Boris(?) – Thanks for the heads up.

      I never uploaded any pictures, so I presume it is something that WordPress is doing.

      I just quickly scrolled through all my posts. I didn’t catch anything wacky.

      Can you cite a specific case that I could go check?

      Jim Grant
      Leader and Cofounder of the Chagrin Valley Job Seekers (CVJS)
      Not all those who wander are lost.
      Public Web Site: http://www.chagrinvalleyjobseekers.org

      JWGrant@AOL.com
      http://www.linkedin.com/in/jimgrant1
      “I train and connect job seekers.”

      Comment by Jim Grant | May 2, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

